How can we help?

How do I delete my child's account?

Updated

Deleting a child account (under 13) is a little different than deleting an account for an adult or older teenager.  Child accounts cannot be deleted without having a parent account attached and linked to it. 

If you want to delete a child's account from your linked parent account, you can do so by following the steps below. However, before doing so, there are two important considerations:

  • Deleting a child account is a permanent action that will delete all progress and put a lock on your child’s username. Their account cannot be restored once deleted. 
  • If your child’s account was established for school use,  you should check with your child’s teachers as they may be using the account for school assignments and to track their progress. 

To check whether the account is being used for school purposes, check to see if your child has any teachers linked to their account. To do this, go to your Parent Dashboard by clicking on your name in the upper right corner, and then click on Parent Dashboard.

Finding_Your_Parent_Dashboard.png 

In your Parent Dashboard, click on your child's name:

Following_Your_Child_s_Progress_in_the_New_Parent_Dashboard.png

Then, click on the Teachers tab in the left navigation bar:

Finding_Teachers_Tab_in_Child_Account.png

If they have any linked teachers, they will be listed on the right-hand side, like this:

My_teachers_and_tutors.png

If your child does have one or more teachers linked to their account, you should check with them as to whether they need your child to keep their account active and the teacher linked, or whether they are OK with you removing them (the teacher) from your child’s account, and deleting it. 

Once you have verified your child does not have any active teachers linked to their account, and you still want to permanently delete all of their past progress (assignments completed, badges earned, etc) and delete their account, follow these steps:

Back in your Parent Dashboard, click Edit Settings next to the child account you'd like to delete.

Edit_Settings_in_the_Parent_Dashboard.png

 

 

Scroll down to the bottom of the child's Settings page and click on Delete [child account username].

Deleting_a_Child_Account_in_Edit_Settings.png

You'll be asked to re-enter the password for your account just to make sure you're the parent or adult connected to the child account, and then your child's account will be deleted.

mceclip0.png